The Original Mud Puppy

Icon

Money Matters

I received a lot of traffic from my Get Rich Slowly post, so I thought you might be interested in a few more great money managing blogs. I suggest you throw all of these in your RSS.

» The Simple Dollar
» Lazy Man And Money
» Wise Bread
» Make Love Not Debt
» My Money Blog
» Five Cent Nickel
» No Credit Needed
» Mighty Bargain Hunter
» Free Money Finance

And with all of these, there are even more great links in their blogroll.

* The following is from Five Cent Nickel.

Money Magazine recently ran a sidebar outlining some handy little financial rules of thumb. Here are my favorites:

The Rule of 72
This is a useful rule for figuring out how quickly your investments will grow… Simply divide the expected rate of return into 72 and you’ll get an estimate of the number of years required to double your money. Earning 9%? Your money will double in 8 years.

The Future Value of Money
If you’re debating about whether or not to make a purchase, keep this little tidbit in mind: Adding zero to the end of the price gives you a quick and dirty estimate of how much of your (potential) retirement nestegg you’re giving up when you make a purchase. That’s the amount of money you’d have in 30 years if you invested the money at an 8% return instead of spending it.

Grooving on a shiny new 160 GB iPod? That’ll set you back close to $3500 down the road. Doesn’t sound quite as enticing now, does it?

Hourly Earnings
If you want to translate a salary into an hourly wage simply cut it in half and then divide by 1000. So if you make $50k/year, you’re earning roughly $25/hour. Conversely, you can get a rough estimate of your full time salary by doubling your hourly wage and adding three zeros to the end of it.

**UPDATE**
1. And this will blow your mind.

2. And subscribe to these already!!

Filed under: Budget, Business, Finance, Links, Money

6 Responses

  1. Jessica says:

    It’s a good thing that I already decided I didn’t need the new Macbook Air or the information about the future value of money would seriously depress me.

  2. Darla says:

    Heard this before and I try to save all that I can, not for myself really, but mostly to give my kids a head start, no matter how small it may be.

  3. ahavens says:

    thanks for giving me a lot of reading to do!

  4. FMF says:

    Thanks for including me!

  5. imoney-life says:

    Very cool … and also very scary! I especially like the calculation for the future value of money!

Leave a Reply

About

The Original Mud Puppy is a 36 year old Christ follower. Father of an amazing son. Husband of a woman that makes me a better person every single day. Book, music, and movie junkie. Avid runner. Part-time cook.
Two creeds that I try to live by are: Stop Existing and Start LivingLove Wins. (more...)

Subscribe / RSS

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 560,897 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 604 other followers

